Back to reviews

 

Imperfekt
2007, self-financed album, 61 minutes, eleven songs

 

Arbetarbladet

Finlandssvenskt potpurri

Prime Mover, ett band som utan att skämmas kan kalla sig finlandssvenskt – medlemmarna härstammar från såväl Åboland som Helsingfors, Nyland och Österbotten – är ute med en ny skiva, Imperfekt. Den pinfärska skivan är Prime Movers fjärde skiva, och den andra där man sjunger på svenska.Titeln ska enligt pressmeddelandet inte syfta till den grammatikaliska termen (som förresten inte längre ska kallas imperfekt, utan preteritum) utan till sådant i samhället som inte är så bra ställt, som är ett tema för hela skivan.

Sången, som främst sköts av Dennis Nordell, går på klingande finlandssvenska. Det är skönt att höra för det första svenska och för det andra en finlandssvenska som inte är överskyld med rikssvenskans mjukhet.

Jämfört med engelskan är det svårt att få svenska sångtexter att passa ihop med musiken. När man sjunger på finlanddsvenska märks det ännu tydligare – jag reagerar många gånger på att vissa ord betonas på märkliga sätt.

Min favoritlåt är ”In i dimman”, som avger en mystisk, lite folkloristisk känsla. Men som samtidigt avviker lite väl mycket från de andra, som har ett mera enhetligt – om än svårbeskrivbart – sound. En annan favorit är ”Enbart psykopat”, som handlar om prioriteringar och osäkerhet inför framtiden, samt den maffiga sista låten ”En yrkeshjältes vedermödor”.

Musiken är definitivt skivans starka sida. Man blandar glatt olika stilar, och bandmedlemmarnas olika musikbakgrund får komma fram. Allt från bluegrass till elektro, heavy metal och elgitarrsolon blandas med pop/rocken som ligger i grunden – ibland blir det till och med lite för mycket. Prime Mover har mycket stoff att använda sig av – det gäller bara att fortsätta treva för att hitta den perfekta balansen mellan dem.

Prime mover, a band that without a shame can call itself a Finnish-Swedish band – the members originate from the Åboland region, as well as Helsinki, Nyland region and Ostrobothnia region – is out with a new record, Imperfekt. The fresh record is Prime Mover's fourth album, and the second one where the lyrics are sung in Swedish. The title should according to their press information not refer to the grammar term (which by the way not more should be called imperfekt but preterium) but to that which is not so well in society, which is a theme for the whole record.

The vocals, which mainly are managed by Dennis Nordell, are sung in ringing Finnish-Swedish. It is lovely to hear, firstly, Swedish and, secondly, a Finnish-Swedish tongue, which is not doused with the softness of the Swedish tongue spoken in Sweden.

Compared to English it is difficult to get Swedish lyrics to go well with the music. When singing in Finnish-Swedish it becomes more evident – I reacted several times on strange pronounsations of certain words.

My favourite song is "In i dimman", which give off a mystic, folk-loristic feeling. But at the same time deviates somewhat from the others, which have a more unifying – but difficult to explain – sound. Another favourite is "Enbart psykopat", which is about priorities and uncertainty about the future, as well as the smashing final track ”En yrkeshjältes vedermödor”.

The music is definitely the strong side of the album. Different styles are gladely mixed, and the different musical background of the band members is allowed to emerge. Everything from bluegrass to electro, heavy metal and electric guitar solos are mixed to a background of pop/rock sometimes it even gets a bit too much. Prime Mover has a lot of material to use now they just have to keep on working to find the perfect balance between them.

Hilda Forss, Arbetarbladet, 4-10 October, 2007.

Up to menu

 

Artrock.se

James Hollingworth – ja, Prime Movers ärliga mansstämma på 70-talsbotten får mig att omedelbart tänka på den svenska barnrockens konung. Den finlandssvenska accenten (första gången jag upplever dylikt på skiva) skickar lika naturligt tankarna till Mumintrollen. De första intrycken pekar således spikrakt i riktning barnskiva.

Men det dröjer bara någon minut innan vi dyker in i ett bökigt mellanparti och Prime Mover befäster sig som symfigt progband. Tvära kast och 70-talsklaviatur befäster bilden, medan de poetiska texterna om vardagens vedermödor/fröjder (pingis, trollskog och brustna hjärtan) slår vidare på 70-talssträngarna. Texterna är förresten synnerligen finurliga (”mästerverk som mest är verk”) och innehåller sköna språkfel, samtliga fullt medvetna finlandismer.

Inalles en rolig, tänkvärd och väldigt välspelad skiva, även om man kan tycka att sångaren kunde variera röstlägena ett par hekto. Med sina tydligt nostalgiska vibbar från ett svunnet 70-tal (notera för övrigt skivtiteln) rekommenderas Prime Mover varmt åt vänner av Beardfish och Dungen.

James Hollingworth - yes, Prime Movers honest male-voice with a seventies-vibe immediately gets me thinking of the king of swedish juvenile-rock. The finnish-swedich accent (first time I've experienced such with an album) just as naturally send my thoughts to the Moomin-characters. My first-impression was also that this is an album for children.

Nevertheless it takes only about a minute before we dive straight in to a messy middle-part and Prime Mover fortify themselves as a symphonical progressive band. Abrubt turns and seventies-inspired piano fortify the picture, whereas the poetical lyrics about everyday hardship/joy (table tennis, trollforests and broken hearts) further plays on strings from the seventies. The lyrics are by
the way extremly shrewd and contains nice linguistic errors, all of them deliberat "finlandisms"

All in all a funny, well played and a record worth considering, even if you wouldn't mind if the singer would vary his vocal pitch a couple of notches. With their nostalgic vibes from a seventies gone by, (do note the record title) Prime Mover is warmly recommended to those who like Beardfish and Dungen.

Rating: 7/10

Daniel Reichberg, Artrock.se, October 2007.

Up to menu

 

Babyblaue Seiten

Es geht um Entfremdung und persönliche Unzulänglichkeiten in einer digitalen Welt. Wer des Schwedischen nicht mächtig ist, dem wird sich der textliche Inhalt jedoch erst bei einem Blick auf die hübsch gemachte Homepage erschließen. Denn die Band aus Finnland textet auf Schwedisch. Der Gesang von Leadsänger Dennis Nordell strahlt genau das aus, auf eine sehr skandinavische, melancholische Weise. Auch die Melodien erzeugen diese Melancholie und zugleich eine - für vorzugsweise an anglo-amerikanische Musik gewohnte Ohren - seltsam berührende „Exotik“. Es braucht daher auch eine Weile bis man sich an den recht fremdartigen Klang der Band gewöhnt hat. Aber mit jedem Hördurchgang wird die Welt von Prime Mover vertrauter und die von leichter Hand komponierten Feinheiten erschließen sich.

Erwähnenswert wäre eine Menge, ich lasse es an dieser Stelle bei dem wunderbaren Harmoniegesang von Olivia Häggblom im Refrain von Telefonsamtal Fran Norr bewenden. Und dem lässigen jazzigen Einschlag von Mest Är Värk. Der düsteren Morbidität von In I Dimman. Oder dem epischen und zugleich im Instrumentalteil schräg aufgekratzten Ingenting. Dem nahezu new-art-rockig scheppernd-schleppenden Styrd Av Plastkort. Dem melodieseeligen Alternative-Prog von Enbart Psykopat. Und auch dem irgendwie wikingermäßigen Refrain im Longtrack En Yrkeshjältes Vedermödor. Jeder Song wartet mit einer Vielzahl liebevoll kombinierter Details auf, die jedes einzelne Stück unverwechselbar machen.

Der Sound von "Imperfekt" ist dabei im Prinzip nicht weit vom Vorgängeralbum „Prime Mover Alias Drivkraft“ entfernt. Er wirkt allerdings moderner, weniger jazzig und bei aller musikalischen Vielseitigkeit irgendwie runder. Geblieben ist der vor allem durch den stimmungsvollen schwedischen Gesang erzeugte folkloristische Akzent. Und die Liebe zum Progressive Rock ist es – bei allen sonstigen musikalischen Interessen -, die allen Musikern der Band gemeinsam ist. Und das hört man auch deutlich, vielleicht deutlicher noch als zuvor. Es finden sich klassisch-proggige Elemente mit schrägen Rhythmen und Mellotronklängen ebenso wie neoproggige Synthieschübe. Was entsteht ist aber nicht ein wirres Sammelsurium, sondern ein ganz eigenes, originelles Klangbild, eine seltsame musikalische Identität, die nicht gewollt klingt, sondern sich erstaunlich organisch entwickelt.

Wer des herkömmlichen Retrosounds müde ist und auch den lärmigen und überdrehten Klängen mancher neuer „Progbands“ nicht gar so viel abgewinnen kann, dafür aber bereit ist, sich kunstvoll ausgearbeiteter, dennoch leichtfüßiger skandinavischer Merkwürdigkeit auszusetzen, der sollte dieser Band eine Chance geben. Es lohnt sich.

It is about alienation and personal insufficiency in a digital world. Who cannot speak Swedish, will understand the lyrics only when visiting the band’s website, since the Finnish band writes in Swedish. The singing of lead singer Dennis Nordell expresses exactly this in a very Scandinavian, melancholic way. Also the melodies create this melancholy and at the same time – for listeners used to Anglo-American music – a peculiar touching ‘exotic’. It needs time to get used to the quite exotic sound of the band. But with every listening the world of Prime Mover gets more familiar. The easy handed subtleties open up.

There would be a lot to mention, but I leave it with wonderful harmonic singing of Olivia Häggblom in the refrain of "Telefonsamtal Från Norr". And the cool-jazzy touch of "Mest Är Värk". The dark morbitity of "In I Dimman" or the epic and simultaneously (in the instrumental part) weird "Ingenting". The "meldoy-souly" Alternative-Prog of Enbart Psykopat. And also the somehow viking-like refrain of the long track En Yrkeshjältes Vedermödor. Every song has a variety of affectionately combined details that make every track unique.

The sound of Imperfekt is in principle not far away from the predecessor Prime Mover alias Drivkraft. However it appears more modern, less jazzy and with all its musical plurality somehow rounder. What remained is the folkloristic accent, coming from the Swedish singing. The love for progressive rock is what all musicians have in common beside all their other musical interests. This you can hear clearly, maybe even more clearly than before. You’ll find classical-progressive elements with weird rhythms and mellotron-sounds as well as neoprogessive synthesizer-riffs. The result however is not a mess but a very own original sound, a strange musical identity, that does not sound artificial, but develops amazingly organically.

For those, who are tired of usual Retrosound but also do not find much in the noisy and overturned sound of newer „Progbands“ and who are willing to listen to artful arranged but still light, Scandinavian weirdness should give a chance to this band. It is worth it.

Rating: 12/15

Christian Rode, Babyblaue Seiten, 26 October 2007 (kindly translated by Thomas Kohl).

Up to menu

 

Desibeli.net

Nykyään on yhä tavallisempaa puhua "progesta" erillään "progressiivisesta" musiikista. Ensinmainitulla viitataan tällöin sellaiseen musiikkiin, joka seuraa uskollisesti 70-luvun progressiivisen rockin tyyliä. Kovin "edistyksellistä" tai "uudistuvaa" tämä kun ei enää ole, vaikka ei ole tietty mitään syytä väheksyäkään näitä muusikoita, jotka hakevat innoitusta menneestä, sen enempää kuin muidenkaan vakiintuneiden tyylilajien edustajia.

Suomenruotsalainen Prime Mover on yksi tällainen yhtye. Heidän musiikissaan voi kuulla suoria kaikuja lukuisten muiden tekijöiden työstä, Jethro Tullista Gentle Giantiin, Marillionista Bo Hanssoniin. Toki mukana on uudempaakin vaikutetta, sillä jos nuorena on kuunneltu innokkaasti Pearl Jamia, ei tätä piilovaikutetta ole helppo karistaa, vaikka haluaisikin. Onneksi Prime Mover ei vaikuta näin puristiselta yhtyeeltä, vaan ennemmin Imperfekt on suuri vaikutteiden sekamelska. En osoita yhtyeelle valheellista kohteliaisuutta sanomalla, että he tästä huolimatta kuulostaisivat "omalta itseltään", sillä juuri oma ääni tältä levyltä puuttuu. Sen sijaan he kuulostavat rehellisen inspiroituneilta - taitavien soittajien sormiharjoitus Imperfekt ei ole - minkä vuoksi levy pyörikin soittimessani huomattavasti pidempään kuin ensikuulemalta aavistin. Vaikka Dennis Nordellin arkinen, turhankin selvästi artikuloiva puhelaulu pidätteleekin levyä paikoin maan pinnalla, on levy pakattu täyteen elähdyttäviä melodioita ja kaunista stemmalaulua, joiden parissa tunnin mittainen levy ei tunnu lainkaan ylipitkältä.

Rating: 4/5

Mikko Heimola, Desibeli.net, 10 February 2008.

Up to menu

 

Dutch Progressive Rock Page

The start of what would later become Prime Mover can be traced back to the late 80s, when Michael Karlsson (guitars, background vocals) and Roger Nyman (bass) started to make music together. It wasn’t until 1999 that their debut CD-r Mr Zingelmann was released. On that release they were joined by Dennis Nordell (lead vocals) and Sebastian Teir (keyboards, bouzouki and background vocals). In 2001 they released Put In Perspective. On the album Kenneth Lagerström (drums) was the new guy. And after 2004’s Prime Mover Alias Drivkraft they now release Imperfekt.

How wise is it to name your new album Imperfekt? Some reviewers are bound to make remarks about that. Finland's Prime Mover state in the press bio that they received mixed reactions about their previous album Prime Mover Alias Drivkraft. That’s also Imperfekt’s’ main theme. It deals with the fact that, in everyday life, it isn’t easy to fulfil demands and live up to expectations. Very rarely something feels like it’s perfect. Of course the album is not perfect. But in life very little is. This review for instance won’t be perfect. We can only try.

The album looks good, though. The sleeve design is modern and a good representation of the music on the disc inside. The lyrics are printed against a background of beautiful photo’s from Finland’s natural beauty (made by background vocalist and album guest Olivia Häggblom). English translations of the Swedish lyrics can be found on the bands website. ‘Swedish lyrics?’; I hear you say. ‘I thought you said they came from Finland?’. That’s true, but it seems that Swedish is spoken by a 6% minority in Finland. So a beautiful booklet and sleeve but a real shame about the terrible photo’s of the band members and guests. They could have made more of an effort there!

The album sounds like it’s been recorded live. That gives the album a very… uhm… lively feel but sometimes also a bit messy. The quality of the songs however is mostly above average, although it’s difficult to place Prime Mover in the progressive landscape. The songs sound modern but added sounds from the Fender Rhodes, clavinet, Hammond and a little Mellotron sometimes steers the sound into the 70s. The guitar sound remind me of 90s grunge bands like Soundgarden. The same applies to Dennis Nordell’s voice. I really like his voice. His sound and vocal melodies do sometimes resemble Chris Cornell of Soundgarden and Audioslave as in parts of Ingenting (with it’s Metallica ending) and Styrd Av Plastkort (with it’s Porcupine Tree opening). Another influence I do hear is the jazz rock side of Echolyn especially on the very good Mest är Värk. They succeed in mixing all these influences into a style of their own. Maybe that is why the feel of the album reminded me of the late Liquid Scarlett. Hard too place and a little bit cocky. But where Liquid Scarlett also had an experimental side Prime Mover is more straightforward.

I’m not always very fond of the arrangement choices they made. Sväljer Mina Ord for example starts with a very interesting guitar riff from guitar player Michael Karlsson that never returns again. After three minutes the song stops to continue again with a completely different melody. It also contains an exciting guitar solo backed by a screaming Hammond, but the song as a whole does not feel right. The arrangement for the jazzy break in album opener Telefonsamtal Frän Nor sounds a bit cheesy and the same goes for the ‘la la la’ break in Mest är Värk. As a whole the songs are good but a little more self criticism would have made them even better. Sagt Och Gjort is a short song with lead vocals from Sebastian Teir. That’s not a success. He should leave the singing to the far superior Dennis Nordell.

There are plenty of highlights to mention. The very progressive Ingenting is an impressive song with lots of nice breaks and tempo changes. It features some great clavinet and Fender Rhodes work from keyboard player Sebastian Teir. Also I Verkligheten has a lot to offer in it’s nearly five minutes, especially the catchy Moog part sounds great. Enbart Psykopat is simply a beautiful song which opens with a very moving guitar motif (that does return again!). It has a strong chorus that I would want to sing with them if it wasn’t for the Swedish lyrics I keep choking on. In I dimman has a lot of tension, which reminded me a bit of Ritual's song The Groke. Again it has a beautiful chorus, but you have to wait nearly three minutes for it.

It may sound as if the album is a bit of a mixed bag but that is not true. I really enjoyed the album but some of the songs could have been much better if the band had looked to them with a more critical eye. Overall I would say that Prime Mover is a talented band and Imperfekt is an album that shows that one day Prime Mover might just make that perfect album.

Conclusion: 7 out of 10

Leo Koperdraat, Dutch Progressive Rock Page, 3 November 2007.

Up to menu

 

Imperiumi

Olen kuullut muutamien syntyperäisten ruotsalaisten ylistävän, kuinka heidän mielestään kauneinta ruotsia puhuvat suomenruotsalaiset. Olipa innoitus Prime Moverin ilmaisukielen vaihtamisesta englannista äidinkielelleen, on myönnettävä, että (suomen)ruotsi istuu mainiosti yhtyeen musiikkiin.

Prime Mover saa luultavasti kuulla arvosteluissa jatkossakin viittauksia äidinkielestään, mutta mielestäni on huomattavasti luonnollisemmankuuloista ja aidompaa kuulla musiikkia, joka on toteutettu tekijöiden omalla äidinkielellä. Maailma on pullollaan yhtyeitä, jotka yrittävät väenvängällä tehdä englanninkielistä musiikkia, vaikkei kieli siihen luontevasti taipuisikaan.

Imperfekt on järjestyksessään Prime Moverin neljäs pitkäsoitto, joskin se on vasta toinen (suomen)ruotsiksi tehty kiekko. Levyn kappaleita nivoo yhteen teema, jossa on tehty havaintoja yhteiskunnan asettamista tavoitteista ja kuinka ihmiset niitä pyrkivät täyttämään.

Musiikillisesti Imperfekt tarjoaa puhuttelevaa progressiivista rockia, joka on toteutettu ajattomassa hengessä. Tuotantopuolella, joka on hallitun tasapainoinen, ei ole yritetty aikaansaada liian moderneja soundeja, mikä sopii hienosti levyn henkeen. Ovathan levyn sanoituksissa käsitellyt aiheetkin ajattomia.

Prime Mover on onnistunut musiikinteossaan luomaan itselleen oman tunnistettavan soundin, jota ei voi verrata muihin yhtyeisiin. Ei ole helppoa luoda uutta, vaikka pilkahdus Steve Hackettin aikaista Genesistä, Camelin kepeää lyyrisyyttä, Gentle Giantin kimuranttia nuottileikittelyä ja vanhan King Crimsonin tunteikasta pauhua silloin tällöin välähtääkin musiikista. Hienojen melodioiden ja -jo aiemmin mainitsemani- ajattoman toteutuksen ansiosta (mm. akustiset kitarat, makoisat Rhodes-kuviot ja svengaavat rummut) tarjoaa nautinnollista kuunneltavaa vaativammallekin progen harrastajalle pitkäksi aikaa.

Imperfekt? Hah!

I have heard a few Swedes praise how the Finnish Swedes speak their language, in their opinion it is the most beautiful kind of Swedish. This was a good reason also for the band Prime Mover to change their language from English to their mothertongue – I must admit that (Finnish)Swedish fits their music very well.

In reviews Prime Mover will probably always get comments about their mothertongue, but in my opinion it’s a lot more natural and genuine to hear music that is realized in an artist’s own language. The world is full of bands, who by force try to make music in English, even if the language doesn’t flow naturally for them.

”Imperfekt” is Prime Mover’s fourth full-length album, but it’s just the second one made in (Finnish)Swedish. The tracks on the album have a common theme: the lyrics are observations of what society is striving for, and how people try to live up to it.

Musically, ”Imperfekt” offers pleasant progressive rock, done with a timeless feel. The production is even, and well under control. The band hasn’t tried to use too modern sounds, and that suits the album fine. The lyrical topics are after all also timeless.

With their music, Prime Mover have succeeded in creating an own recognizable sound, which can’t be compared to other bands. It’s not easy to create something new in music, even if glimpses of the Steve Hackett-era Genesis, Camel’s light lyricism, Gentle Giant’s clever playing with notes, and King Crimson’s emotional thundering are observable here and there. Because of the beautiful melodies and the already mentioned timeless realization (acoustic guitars, delicious Rhodes-layers and grooving drums), the album offers a lot of enjoyable listening – also for more demanding prog fans.

”Imperfekt”? Hah!

Rating: 8/10

Kalevi Heino, Imperiumi, 1 December 2007.

Up to menu

 

Jakobstads Tidning

Prime Mover rör sig framåt

Prime Mover verkar ha funnit sin roll som ett finlandssvenskt skivproducerande proggband. Något som de förmodligen är rätt ensamma om och som knappast är någon lukrativ verksamhet. Skivutgivningarna bekostar de själva och ger ut via sitt eget skivbolag Skivkraft. Därför är det en klart beundransvärd roll de tagit på sig. Flera skivor har sett dagens ljus genom åren och kvaliteten på musiken har förbättrats hela tiden. Så även denna gång.

Låtarna är mestadels rätt lugna, för att plötsligt braka loss i attacker av powerackord.Exempelvis ”Sväljer mina ord” är närmast trallig. Melodier saknar bandet inte. Nu känns det även som om Prime Mover tagit ut svängarna (ännu) mera och gör det på ett mera övertygat och avslappnat sätt. Sångaren Dennis Nordell växlar mellan finlandssvenska och dialekt (”Sagt och gjort”), engagerat men ibland också något lojt. Hans röst är mjuk och varm, men skulle gärna få riva och klösa lite mera. Förvisso helt och hållet en smaksak. Däremot är den stinna manskören i ”En yrkeshjältes vedermödor” mäktig. Manskör och progg passar tydligen bra ihop.

Skivhäftet avslöjar att ”Låttexterna innehåller vissa språkfel av typen finlandismer, och det är helt avsiktligt”. Härligt. Man ska stå för sin identitet.

Prime Mover is moving forward

It seems as though Prime Mover have found their role as a Swedish speaking Finnish prog band that produces records. They’re probably the only ones doing this kind of thing, and it probably isn’t a profitable business either. Because of this, the role they’ve taken on is clearly worth admiring. Several records have seen the light of day throughout the years and the quality of the music has improved over time. This is the case this time around too.

The songs are mostly quite soft, just to suddenly explode in attacks of power chords. For example ”Sväljer mina ord” is close to mainstream. This band sure isn’t short of melodies. This time it feels as though Prime Mover let loose even more and do it in a more convincing and relaxed way. The singer, Dennis Nordell, shifts between the common kind of Swedish spoken in some areas of Finland and one of its dialects (”Sagt och gjort”). He’s involved, but sometimes even somewhat indolent. His voice is soft and warm, but he could add a bit more scratch to his sound. This is of course only a matter of taste. On the other hand, the stuffed male choir in ”En yrkeshjältes vedermödor” is powerful. Appartently male choirs and progressive music mix well together.

The booklet reveals that ”the lyrics contain some grammatical errors of the kind called Finlandizms, and this is entirely intentional”. Wonderful. You should always stand up for your identity.

Daniel Ainasoja, Jakobstads Tidning, 18 November 2007.

Up to menu

 

Keskipohjanmaa

Absoluuttisen Nollapisteen suomenruotsalainen pikkuserkku

Rock ja hevi elävät ja voivat Suomessa hyvin. Bändipaljouteen nähden on erikoista, kuinka vähän maasta löytyy progebändejä. Vielä harvinaisempaa on se, että kotimainen progebändi laulaisi omalla äidinkielellään – tai edes toisella niistä.

Musiikilliseen puutostautiin vastaa Uusikaarlepyy-juurinen Prime Mover, joka englanti-kokeilujensa jälkeen on päässyt toiseen pitkäsoittoonsa ruotsalaisilla sanoituksilla. Kielimuurit ylittävässä mittakaavassa Imperfekt on yhtyeen kolmas omakustanteinen kokopitkä.

Imperfekt starttaa kaikkien progepoliisistandardien mukaisesti nykivässä 7/8-tahtilajissa. Tehokeino on kärsinyt genren sisäisen inflaation, mutta kuuluu hassuttelevaa sielunmaisemaa maalailevan Prime Moverin tavaramerkkeihin. Musiikillisesti Prime Mover voisi olla Absoluuttisen Nollapisteen suomenruotsalainen pikkuserkku.

Imperfekt sisältää yksitoista kappaletta. Sinkkumaisista kestoistaan huolimatta biisien sovituksissa eksytään ajoittain näpertelyn puolelle. Kikkailuenergian olisi yhtä hyvin voinut kuluttaa selvempien laulujen tekemiseen, sillä Prime Moveria kiusaava suoruudenpelko kääntyy yhtyettä rajoittavaksi tekijäksi. Onnistuneena poikkeuksena loistaa Sväljer Mina Ord. Maltillisesti kasattu basisti Roger Nymanin biisi kohoaa levyn parhaaseen antiin.

Taustalaulaja Olivia Häggblomin hienoilla kuvilla maustettu tyylitajuinen kansilehti esittelee jopa 8-jäsenisen Prime Moverin. Todellisuudessa ydinsykkeestä vastaa viisimiehinen bändi: Dennis Nordell (laulu), Michael Karlsson (kitara), Sebastian Teir (koskettimet), Kenneth Lagerström (rummut) ja basisti Nyman. Imperfektin varmin elementti on Lagerströmin takuuvarma rumputyöskentely.

Leipätyön ohessa veistetyn Imperfektin heikoin lenkki on kotikutoinen soundimaailma. Varsinkin pinnassa jyystävät komppikitarat alkavat pidemmän päälle häiritä.

Levylle on saatu Svenska Kulturfondenin rahallista tukea. Myös miehistön skarpista imagosta päätelleen muusikot tuhlaavat tienestinsä johonkin muuhun kuin rock´n´roll-elintapojen ylistämiseen. Siihen nähden voi vain toivoa, että Prime Mover uskaltaisi vielä joskus sijoittaa ylimääräiset euronsa pariin viikkoon oikeassa studiossa.

Ulkopuolinen korva ja reilua kahta vuotta huomattavasti tiiviimpi levyn synnytysprosessi olisivat tarvittava kehitysaskel Prime Moverin tiellä.

Jouni Nikula, Keskipohjanmaa, 1 December 2007.

Up to menu

 

Palasokeri.com

Edellisestä Prime Moverin levystä on vierähtänyt kolme vuotta. Pitikin muistin virkistykseksi kaivaa pari edellistä levyä kuunteluun tätä uutta postilaatikkoon odottaessani. Hyviltähän ne kuulostivat edelleen.

"Imperfekt":in kansia tutkiessani huomio kiinnittyy siihen seikkaan, että kosketinsoittaja Sebastian Teir on tällä kertaa ollut bändin ahkerin säveltäjä ja sanoittaja. Toiseksi tuotteliain on ollut kitaristi Michael Karlsson. Ennen hänen kanssaan päävastuun kantanut basisti Roger Nyman on tällä kertaa säveltänyt vain kaksi kappaletta ja sanoittanut yhden.

Parilla ensilevyllään englanniksi laulanut Prime Mover vaihtoi esityskielen edellisellä levyllään ruotsiksi, mikä oli mielestäni hyvä siirto. Äidinkielellään laulaessaan bändi kuulostaa persoonallisemmalta ja luontevammalta, ja tällöin myös Dennis Nordellin äänen Eddie Veddermäisyys katoaa.

"Imperfekt" on kansia myöten huolella kasattu paketti. Jo parilla kuuntelulla on selvää, että bändi on pyrkinyt tekemään kuuntelua kestävän paketin. Biisit eivät ole ihan tarttuvimmasta päästä, joten kuuntelua ne myös vaativat ennen kuin levyyn pääsee kunnolla sisälle. Itsetarkoituksellista kikkailua ja progeilua progeilun vuoksi ei juurikaan esiinny, mutta silti biiseissä tapahtuu paljon ja sävellykset ovat varsin polveilevia. Varsinaista sooloilua ei ole juuri nimeksikään, vaikka hetkittäin jokin instrumentti saattaakin työntyä aitiopaikalle. Melodiantaju bändillä tuntuu myös olevan kohdillaan ja niissä paikoitellen esiintyvät kansanmusiikinomaiset linjat tietenkin tämmöistä folk-fania miellyttävät.

Tykkään myöskin bändin soundiratkaisuista ja levyn tuotannosta. Se on lämpöinen ja maanläheinen, ei sen enempää vanhahtava kuin modernikaan, ainoastaan luonnollinen. Eri aikakausien soundi- ja tyyliratkaisut elävät sulassa sovussa keskenään.

On hankala valita levyltä mielikappalettaan. Juuri kun sen on tehnyt niin seuraava biisi syrjäyttääkin sen. Potentiaalisia sinkkubiisejä keksin kaksi; aikuisempaa väestöä miellyttäisi varmaankin "Sväljer mina ord" ja nuorempaan porukkaan iskisi puolestaan "Styrd av plastkort".

Bändillä tuntuu olevan myös sanottavaa ja sanoitukset eivät ole tälläkään levyllä mitä tahansa liirum laarumia. Valitettavasti heikko kielitaitoni estää tarkemman ruotimisen. Pitänee tutustua nettisivuiltaan löytyviin englannoksiin.

"Imperfekt" taitaa hyvinkin olla bändin tähän astisen tuotannon huippu.

Three years have gone by since Prime Mover’s last album. While waiting for this new one to drop into my post box, I had to refresh my memory by digging up the two previous albums for a listen. And they still sound good.

When I checked the ”Imperfekt”-booklet, I noticed that keyboardist Sebastian Teir is the most productive composer and lyricist this time around. Second most productive is guitarist Michael Karlsson. Bass player Roger Nyman, who used to share the main responsibility with Karlsson, has composed only two tracks and written the lyrics for one.

On their first two albums Prime Mover sang in English, but on the previous album they changed the language to Swedish, which in my opinion was a good move. The band sounds more individual and natural when they sing in their mothertongue, and the Eddie Vedder-style in Dennis Nordell’s voice has disappeared.

”Imperfekt” is a carefully made package, including the cover. Two listens are enough to make it clear that the band has wanted to make an album that can be listened to many times. The songs aren’t of the catchiest kind, they demand several listenings before you really get what the album is about. A lot happens in the songs and the compositions are very twisting, but it’s not that much pointless show-offing and prog just for prog’s sake. There aren’t really that many true solos, even if some instruments for a moment get pushed into the front row. The sense for melodies seems to work well, and the folky style in some parts is of course pleasant for a fan of folk music.

I also like the production and the sound decisions the band has made. It’s warm and down-to-earth – neither oldish nor modern, just natural. The sound and style is influenced by music from different eras, and it works well as a whole.

It’s difficult to choose a favourite track. Just when you’ve done it, the next song sounds even better. I came up with two potential single tracks: adults would probably like ”Sväljer mina ord”, and for younger people ”Styrd av plastkort” would do the trick.

The band also seems to have things to say, and like on the previous albums the lyrics aren’t just a lot of nonsense. My Swedish sadly isn’t that good, so I can’t do a closer analyze. I guess I should check out the English translations on the website.

”Imperfekt” might well be the band’s best release so far.

Rating: 4,5/5

Hezzu, Palasokeri.com, 19 October 2007.

Up to menu

 

ProGGnosis

Prime Mover, a Finnish band that is singing in Swedish? or are they misplaced Swedes singing in Finland? Either way you look at it, this band is doing something a bit unusual, no so much in a musical sense, but they are unique in the sense that they are creating a sincere music that is very personal while staying approachable. At this point, I wouldn't go so far as to call this progressive rock music, yet being that the music is not "popular music" in the radio sense would qualify it as something that fans of progressive music would enjoy. Prime Mover is a large band consisting of eight musicians, the band admits that they are more a project band than that of a full-time band, understandably in this day and age. In trying to describe the bands' sound to the reader, I would say they are equal parts hard rock and folk rock, they present their music in Swedish lyrically, although they are hailing from Finland, and yes I am confused about that. The band will take an occasional foray into some instrumental moments where the prog elements come into fashion, they even seem to have a hint of jazz going on, although to a far lesser degree.

Interesting that at the bands website, you can read along to the lyrics in both Swedish and English. Which is very helpful in understanding the content of the lyrical element of the band. They shared some of the singing duties with Dennis Nordell and Olivia Haggblom, with Nordell's mid ranged and pleasant tone doing most of the singing. This is a kind of music that is original and genuine, for open minded listeners, in a way they can be remotely in the Anglagard camp, but not quite as progminded all the time, and with songs far shorter, except for the epic 10 minute - En Yrkeshjaltes Vedermodor, where they really show their progressive side.

To conclude this review, I found that there were some moments of greatness on this cd, but they were hit and miss, as many of the songs were pretty straight forward, yet when they played the more complex, progressive material they showed a lot of upside, both as writers and musicians, many of the more instrumental sections left me wanting for more, Prime Mover is definitely one to keep an eye on, as they could become a something special.

MJBrady, ProGGnosis, 2 December 2007.

Up to menu

 

Progressive Ears

It’s always a joy when Progressive Ears sends me a real gem of a CD to review. Admittedly, I am able to read about the possible bands I can choose to review, but I still don’t know which ones will be diamonds and which ones merely coal. In the case of Prime Mover’s Imperfekt, there is no doubt I have been sent a gem. In fact, I will go so far as to crown this the greatest CD Progressive Ears has sent me to review yet.

Imperfekt is one of those CDs that simply defies categorization. It has clear influences from the symphonic prog greats like Genesis and Yes, but it also contains the types of soaring vocals you most often hear in pop music, various traces of electronic music, and pounding metallic lines that it’s possible to headbang to (if that’s your thing). As the band says, “we spontaneously mix [our many influences] all into a stew that suits our tastes.” Indeed, all of these elements, far from making the CD feel disjointed; instead give it a sense of continuity as well as of diversity. In other words, they make the CD interesting and comfortable, keeping it from sinking into the plethora of albums that merely repeat what came before.

In that sense, the music is complex on an intellectual level, but it also manages to appeal in two other areas: energy and emotion. This CD never really stops rocking (except for brief periods), keeping an intensity level that never allows the listener to get bored. On the emotional side of things, this music is uplifting, plain and simple. This is a CD that makes you happy when you listen to it (in a similar manner as Sigur Ros’ Agaetis Byrjun).

The lyrics are sung in the band’s native language, a type of Swedish spoken by only 6% of Finnish citizens, giving Imperfekt an authentic and unique feel. Though the band started out singing in English, they switched to Swedish for, I believe, the CD before this one. Though I haven’t heard their earlier work, the Swedish feels very natural and fits well with the music, so I can only imagine it’s an improvement.

All around, Imperfekt is nothing if not a great CD. It rocks, it progs, and it uplifts. What more can you ask for, really? I’d recommend this to every prog fan, especially those on the more “commercial” side of prog. While this band is far from commercial, they do have a somewhat mainstream appeal, as they can appeal to fans of all different styles. That in mind, however, I am largely and avant-proghead, and I still loved this CD. It easily earns a B+ (excellent), and I hope you add it to your collection soon. Definitely one of 2007’s highlights.

Pnoom, Progressive Ears, 25 October 2007.

Up to menu

 

Progressive Newsletter

Schon sehr nett, wenn die eigene CD Kritik bzw. der gnadenlose Verriss (in diesem Fall das Debüt „Mr.Zingelmann“ der finnischen Band Prime Mover) auf der Bandseite recht selbstironisch als "Klassiker" gewürdigt wird. Doch Dank an die Band, dass ich noch eine zweite Chance bekomme. Und siehe da: seit dem ersten Kontakt gingen nicht nur einige Jahre ins Land, recht offensichtlich hat sich die Band auch ansprechend weiterentwickelt.

Als kleine Minderheit in Finnland bevorzugt man eine Art Schwedisch, in der auch die kompletten Texte des Albums gehalten sind. Netterweise sind diese aber in englischer Übersetzung auf der Band Homepage verfügbar. Stilistisch ist man vermehrt in Retrogefilden zu Hause, jedoch mit einem unterschwelligen Hang zu melodisch, sinfonisch ausladenden Momenten. Je länger man sich „Imperfekt“ anhört, umso mehr wird man von diesem Album gefangen genommen. Steht zu Beginn vielfach die melodische Schlagseite im Vordergrund, geht es im zweiten Teil des Albums weitaus abwechslungsreicher zu Werke.

Prime Mover verstehen es einerseits, proggig mit 70s Touch loszurocken, andererseits dürfen eben auch ein paar moderne Schlenker, schmachtende Balladenansätze und ganz leichter Jazz Rock Touch nicht fehlen. Und zu guter letzt kommt natürlich auch die skandinavische Melancholie zu ihrem Recht. Dies wird jedoch alles harmonisch vermengt, zudem sich ein leicht trauriger Unterton als roter Faden durch das Album zieht. Dieser Eindruck wird ebenfalls durch die kantige Sprache noch weiter verstärkt.

Sicherlich bewegen sich Prime Mover weitgehend auf allseits bekanntem Terrain, doch der Band gelingt es, mit einer gewissen Lockerheit und Unverkrampftheit diverse Sympathiepunkte einzuheimsen. Meine zweite Bekanntschaft mit Prime Mover ist damit um einiges positiver und "Imperfekt" eine gute Wahl für skandinavischen Prog Rock auf spielerisch ansprechendem Niveau.

Kristian Selm, Progressive Newsletter, Issue 61, January 2008.

Up to menu

 

Progressive Rock & Progressive Metal - E-Zine

Prime Mover is a Finnish band, formed in 1998 by young musicians Michael Karlsson and Roger Nyman, where they started recording various stuff together way back when they were kids in the late 80's. This was in Nykarleby/Uusikaarlepyy in Finland. As time went by, they learned how to play the guitar and bass respectively, and started forming bands, writing songs and recording demos. By that time, Roger and Michael had become better and more ambitious musicians, and therefore decided to try to record some own music that was good "for real". The first demo, "Mr Zingelmann" (1999), was basically a 40 minute concept album. The first real album was however "Put In Perspective" (2001), which was also the first release with the whole line-up. For the second album, "Prime Mover Alias Drivkraft" (2004), the band wrote all the lyrics in their native tongue: a minority version of Swedish spoken only in Finland. "Imperfekt" (2007), their last album, was at first intended to be an EP with only three songs, but it got expanded several times and the final result was an over one hour long album with eleven songs. Prime Mover plays a fine Progressive Rock with influences from many style directions, blending styles such as Jazz Rock, Classic Rock, Melodic Rock and Folk, in a perfect musical combination, adding some nice symphonic trends. Like many old bands, Prime Mover can be considered as a typical prog rock group, using classic progressive instruments, such as Keyboards, Guitar, Bass and Drums, but in perfect doses and, the result is a dynamic and very cool music, we can enjoy an incredible instrumental arrangements, of which consist of very tasteful and diverse interplay between passages of guitar, keys, bass and drums, the vocals, although sung in Swedish/Finnish, fits perfectly with the music, creating exciting prog music to be long treasured. "Imperfekt" contains eleven songs and 61 minutes that, illustrate the songwriting talent that is present within the band. A special and particular attention to and my favourite songs are: "Telefonsamtal Från Norr", "Sväljer Mina Ord", "In I Dimman", "Ingenting", "I Verkligheten", "Sånt Vi Behöver", "Enbart Psykopat" and the last song "En Yrkeshjältes Vedermödor" that´s in my opinion, the best track on the album. The musicians on Prime Mover are: Dennis Nordell – Vocals, Michael Karlsson – Guitars, Sebastian Teir – Keyboards, Roger Nyman – Bass Guitar and Kenneth Lagerström – Drums. Guests musicians: Olivia Häggblom, Miklos Långvik - Acoustic Guitar on "In I dimman", Klaus Canth - Drobro Solo on "Sagt Och Gjort" and Ellen Karlsson - Backing Vocals on "Ingenting". Brilliant and indispensable work, highly recommendable....

Carlos Vaz, Progressive Rock & Progressive Metal - E-Zine, February 2008.

Up to menu

 

ProgressoR

Prolusion. If I were a Swede I could present this band, PRIME MOVER, as our people in Finland. I have no idea whether the musicians live in the vicinity of their historical homeland or somewhere in the inland of Finland, but they say their dialect is one-of-a kind, fairly different from classic Swedish. “Imperfekt” is the group’s fourth recording, following “Alias Drivkraft” (2004), “Put in Perspective” (2001, their only official release with English lyrics) and “Mr. Zingelmann” (a demo CD-R from 1999). Besides the five permanent Prime Mover members whose names you can see in the lineup above, three more musicians took part in this recording: Miklos Langvik, Dennis Mordell and Olivia Haggblom, but it seems to be sealed with seven seals what instruments they play. I haven’t found any info on the matter in the booklet or on the band’s website either, but after listening to the disc I arrived at the conclusion that all of them are providers of supporting vocals, the woman only appearing on a few tracks.

Analysis. Prior to listening to “Imperfekt” I refreshed my memory of the band’s previous album, and the result is not in favor of their new offering. There are moments of smoothness to be found on “Alias Drivkraft” also, but only in places, while here, that attribute is strongly increased. This 12-track disc can be divided in three parts, with the first four and the tenth songs forming the category of simpler compositions, the first three tracks, Telefonsamtal Fran Norr, Mest Ar Vark and Svaljer Mina Ord, all coming across as being especially plain. Too common in construction to challenge the progressive ear in any way, all these follow the standard verse/ chorus/ bridge mode, and it’s only the specificity of the band’s style (Dennis Nordell’s singing included) as well as the presence of a couple of instrumental breaks on each that lifts them above average mainstream Rock. In I Dimman and Sagt Och Gjort, while being balladic in nature, are a bit more diverse on their instrumental front, both standing out for some refined acoustic guitar leads. After all, these are free of any hard fabrics, and so it would be safe to mention that they contrast finely with the recording’s heavier material, especially since they’re located within the framework of that. The second part includes four tracks that follow each other at the core of the album, namely Styrd Av Plastkort, I Verkligheten, Sant Vi Behover and Enbart Psykopat, most of the fast-and-heavy moments on the first of these reminding me of Skyclad, just with a much less distinct folk component, which is generally atypical of this recording though. That being said, things get more interesting here, but not so much in terms of progressiveness. Stylistically all these songs are proto-progressive Hard Rock of the ‘70s pattern that periodically ventures into art-rock territory or, to be more precise, alternates corresponding moves, most of which are variations on themselves. What make them sound impressive are their strong energetic message, their instrumental interludes, as well as the fact that keyboardist Sebastian Teir plays quite a significant role on each, unlike the first three tracks where guitarist Michael Karlsson crowds him out almost everywhere. Finally the two semi-epics, Ingenting and En Yrkeshjaltes Vedermodor, are both the most progressively advanced compositions here, though the closing track is too rich in vocal-laden moves with a heroic Viking-like feeling to be a winner. All in all, the largely instrumental Ingenting is the only full-fledged representative of the band’s trademark style on this disc – with the deduction of the folksy ingredient for sure.

Conclusion. “Imperfekt” is a well performed recording, by competent musicians, though merely decent at best compared to its predecessor. Regardless of whether they did it deliberately or not, it was wise :-) of the band to give the CD title they did, as it perfectly reflects their creation’s substance. It is only when considering the originality of the band’s style that I can give their last effort a five-star rating. As to my recommendations, most hard- and pomp rock lovers should find “Imperfekt” to be their sort of music, though only those of them who’re tolerant of any forms of the so-called mainstream might like it in its entirety.

VM, ProgressoR - Uzbekistan Progressive Rock Pages, May 22, 2008.

Up to menu

 

Resonans

Prime Mover är ett band som, med deras egna ord, är ”annorlunda”. Det kan man hålla med om – alla medlemmar har lite olika musiksmak, men den progressiva rocken är något de alla gillar, vilket man hör på skivan. Redan ett första spår i taktarten 7/4 med intrikata instrumentsoli och den för progressivrocken kännetecknande ”alldagliga” texten ovanpå genomtänkta och modiga tonala rörelser gör en intresserad. Jag råkar själv tycka om progressiv rock, så den här skivan var verkligen en trevlig bekantskap.

Texterna handlar om än det ena, än det andra i vår vardag. De backas upp av ett gäng skickliga musiker som spelar tight tillsammans. En favorit blev öppningsspåret Telefonsamtal från norr, som är en välavvägd helhet. På sina ställen kan lösningarna upplevas som lite banala, som om man inte riktigt orkat gå hela vägen. Men allmänt taget är innehållet trevligt, och en trevlig detalj är att det sjungs på svenska – progressiv rock på svenska är en sällsynt delikatess.

Bandet har nog en ljus framtid, tror jag, och utvecklas säkert ständigt. Lite mera djup i soundet och någon procent mera finishing är allt som behövs för att fortsättningen ska vara riktigt kanon.

Martin Segerstråle, Resonans, 4/07.

Up to menu

 

Rocktimes

Gerade hatte ich noch die Rede vom 2004er Output Prime Mover Alias Drivkraft, befasse ich mich jetzt mit dem neuen und aktuellen Werk "Imperfekt" von Prime Mover. Mit Perfektionismus soll das an sich nichts zu tun haben, orientiert sich der Albumtitel doch viel mehr am grammatikalischen Tempus der Vergangenheit. Und wohl war, die Finnen beherrschen spätestens jetzt den 70er-Scandinavian-Prog-Sound par excellence. Das Ganze gibt es in einem modernen Klanggebilde, ordentlich ausgewogen, so dass von der technischen Seite hier alles bestens ist.

Und es bleibt dabei, dass Prime Mover ihren vorzüglichen Prog Rock mit ordentlich Folk anreichern. Vielleicht nicht mehr in dieser Intensität wie auf dem Vorgängerwerk, dafür experimentieren sie allerdings etwas mehr. Und so wechseln sich eingängige Melodien mit retro-progressiven Elementen ständig ab, und man scheut sich auch nicht vor einer geringen Portion Mainstream. Keinesfalls ist damit Melodic Rock gemeint, nein, aber die volkstümlichen Elemente der Songs gehen ins Ohr und bleiben dabei sanft hängen.

Ansonsten lassen sich Prime Mover in ihren Songs etwas mehr Zeit, bis sie auf den Punkt kommen. Das sorgt für eine gewisse Spannung, denn die Finnen sind weit davon entfernt, hier etwas künstlich in die Länge zu ziehen. Alles erscheint sehr ausgewogen. Besonders hervorheben möchte ich den Sound der Gitarren von Michael Karlsson, der auf der neuen Produktionen noch druckvoller und klarer rüber kommt.

Es bleibt auch dabei, dass Prime Mover ihre Texte in der schwedischen Sprache präsentieren. Wir erinnern uns: Sie gehören in Finnland einer dort ansässigen schwedischen Minderheit an und singen somit eigentlich in ihrer Heimatsprache. Das tut dem Gesamteindruck weiterhin keinen Abbruch, ganz im Gegenteil, das klingt sehr angenehm. Die Masche selbst ist erprobt, denn auch die französischen Magma singen bekanntermaßen in Kobaian, und wer sich wirklich für den Inhalt der Texte von Prime Mover interessiert, der schaut ganz einfach auf der Website der Formation vorbei und bekommt so einen detaillierten Einblick.

Musikalisch bieten uns Prime Mover sehr viel Abwechslung. Angefangen beim Opener "Telefonsamtal Från Norr" mit seinen eher locker gehaltenen Takten, bestimmt von den Gitarren und den einfühlsamen Chorgesängen, die von Olivia Häggblom sehr gut ergänzt werden. Ein fast schon opulenter Gesang von Dennis Nordell sorgt für Aufhören. Insbesondere das bisschen Jazz im Wechselspielchen zwischen Bass und Gitarre in "Mest Är Värk" ist eine Bemerkung wert. Aber die Band wird auch atmosphärisch, Orgeln satt, tolle Arrangements und gefühlvolles Klavier geben sich ein Stelldichein ("Sväljer Mina Ord").

Bei "Ingenting" werden Prime Mover wieder richtig rockig mit kernigen Gitarren und die Tempowechsel erzeugen einen schwebenden und melancholischen Eindruck. Der 70er-Sound steht auch wieder im Mittelpunkt der Kompositionen ("I Verkligheten") und mit "Sånt Vi Behöver" macht die Band sogar einen kleinen Abstecher in den New Artrock. Immer wieder verzaubern uns die Finnen mit komplexen Klanggebilden, welches seinen Höhepunkt im Long- und Abschlusstrack "En Yrkeshjältes Vedermödor" findet. Die bereits beschriebene Abwechslung zwischen Prog und hartem Rock, aber auch einfühlsamen Passagen, lassen die knapp elf Minuten wie im Fluge vergehen.

Prime Mover, das ist in der Tat eine progressive Hausnummer, der man dringend mehr Beachtung schenken sollte. Klar, das Ganze braucht ein paar Umläufe, ist aber zu keiner Zeit schwer verdaulich. Ich würde mal sagen, dass hier ein echter Geheimtipp schlummert, der nur noch von den Prog-Jüngern zum Leben erweckt werden muss. 8 - 9 von 10 RockTimes-Uhren!, mit einer eindeutigen Tendenz nach oben. Da steckt noch mehr Potenzial drin, und die Formation sollte sich dringend Gedanken darüber machen, ob sie nicht doch auf die Bühne möchte. Prog ist vielleicht nicht leicht zu vermitteln, aber die geneigte Szene sollte auf so etwas eigentlich nur gewartet haben!

Rating: 8-9/10

Ralf 'Jogi' Ruhenstroth, December 4, 2007, Rocktimes

Up to menu

 

Rumba

Rantaruotsalaisten progeyllätys tuulettaa tunkkaista genreä.

Prime Moverin Imperfekt olisi helppo ohittaa rantaruotsalaisten progena, sillä sitähän tämä on. Genesis ja Marillion löytyvät sukupuusta – mutta tämä on myös luovaa, korkeatasoisesti ja oivaltavasti toteutettua sekä riemastuttavan omaperäistä ja raikasta. Toisin sanoen viidennellä levyllään Turun seudulta ponnistava Prime Mover on niin hyvässä iskussa, että ollaan aivan kansainvälisellä tasolla.

Sebastian Teirin sanoitukset käsittelevät kaikkea katoavien kyläkauppojen ja internetin väliltä. Ne eivät silti lankea siihen patsastelevaan objektiivisuuteen, johon progessa joskus törmää. Ja kyllä säveltäminenkin sujuu: avausbiisi Telefonsamtal från Norrin synariffistä olisi itse Tony Bankskin kateellinen.

Levyn keskivaiheilla on varsinainen melodioiden keidas, johon ensimmäiset viittaukset löytyvät jo basisti Roger Nymanin Sväljer mina ordin lopusta. Huvittavasti alkava In i dimman on huikaisevan kaunis kappale, ja olisi paremmassa maailmassa valtava hitti. Kansansävelmäinen säkeistömelodia on kaunis, mutta kertosäe on sulaa kultaa.

Toinen pääasiallinen biisitekijä Michael Karlsson on myös hyvässä vedossa, mutta Teir vetää pidemmän korren. Nymanin sävellykseen tehty kolmiosainen, levyn päättävä En yrkeshjältes vedemödor on kymmenminuuttinen kolossi, joka kutoo levyn teemat yhteen.

Viides piste tulee juuri näistä viehättävän arkisista sanoituksista, raikkaasta otteesta maailman tunkkaisimman genren parissa sekä uskosta omaan asiaan muotien ja trendien tuolla puolen.

The Finnish-Swedes on the shore have made a prog surprise that is a fresh breath of air in the stale genre.

It would be easy to dismiss Prime Mover’s “Imperfekt” as Finnish-Swedish prog, because that’s what this is. Genesis and Marillion are in the family tree – but this is also creative, advanced and smartly realized, as well as delightfully original and fresh. In other words, on their fifth (sic!) album Prime Mover, who have their roots in the Turku area, are in such a good shape, that they are clearly on an international level.

Sebastian Teir’s lyrics deal with anything from disappearing village shops to Internet. But they don’t stumble into the tense kind of objectivity that you sometimes get in prog. And the compositions work well: the opening track “Telefonsamtal från norr” has a keyboard-riff that would make even Tony Banks envious.

The mid part of the album is an oasis of melodies, with the first indications at the end of bass player Roger Nyman’s “Sväljer mina ord”. “In i dimman”, which begins amusingly, is a dazzlingly beautiful song, and in a better world it would become a massive hit. The folky melody in the verses is beautiful, and the chorus is melted gold.

The second main songwriter, Michael Karlsson, is also in good shape, but Teir pulls the longest straw. Nyman’s composition “En yrkeshjältes vedermödor” – the final track on the album – is a ten-minute colossus divided into three parts, and it sums up the themes of the album.

This album gets five stars because of the charmingly everyday lyrics, the fresh take on the world’s most stale genre, and the belief in doing an own thing, which has nothing to do with fashion and trends.

Rating: 5/5

Jean Ramsay, Rumba, Issue 2, 2008.

Up to menu

 

Soundi

Se, että yhtyeen jäsenet myöntävät eri musiikkimieltymyksensä, on synnyttänyt monta dynaamista kokoonpanoa. Historia tuntee myös ryhmiä, jotka eivät koskaan lähteneet samasta syystä lentoon. Silloin tällöin tulee vastaan myös tapauksia, joista ei vain ota selvää.

Prime Moverin yksittäisten jäsenten kerrotaan kuuntelevan muun muassa bluegrassia, grungea sekä deathmetallia. Imperfektia kuunnellessa juuri mikään mainituista ei kuulu. Sen sijaan tarjolla on monta musiikillista ruokalajia, jotka maistuvat makoisilta sellaisenaan, mutta jotka eivät varsinaisesti kuulu yhteen. Progekeittiössä häärää tällä hetkellä ehkä muutama kokki liikaa.

Prime Mover soittaa hyvin yhteen, yksittäisiä hienoja hetkiä on paljon, mutta kokonaisia huippuraitoja kuitenkin vähemmän. Pramean katon alle on rakennettu turhan erikorkuisia seiniä, jotka kyllä pitävät pystyssä, mutta eivät enää kannattele somistuksia sortumatta. Ehkä tästä johtuu myös levyn niukka soundimaailma, jota varioimalla saisi kappaleisiin ainakin studiossa sopivaa kontrastia.

Sulatusuuniin ei kaivata enää lisää raaka-aineita, nyt kaivataan itse uuniin kovempia tehoja.

It has given birth to many dynamic line-ups when members of a group give in to their different musical affections. In history there are also groups, who for the same reason never took off. Every now and then there are also cases that you just can’t figure out.

It’s told that Prime Mover’s individual members listen to among other things bluegrass, grunge and death metal. When listening to Imperfekt the mentioned styles can hardly be heard. But the band offers many musical dishes that are delicious in themselves, but don’t really fit together. At the moment there are perhaps a few too many busy cooks in the prog-kitchen.

Prime Mover plays well together and there are many excellent moments, but there aren’t that many tracks that work as a whole. The walls under the showy roof have an unnecessary difference in their heights, and they can’t hold up all the decorations without breaking down. One reason for this might be the meager sound, which if it was more varied could create good contrast for the songs – at least for the studio versions.

The raw material for the melting pot isn’t missing anymore, what we now need is more power.

Rating: 3/5

Jaan Wessman, Soundi, November 2007 issue.

Up to menu

 

Sue

Progea suomenruotsiksi. Siinä Prime Moverin konsepti. Toki musiikista kuulee muitakin vaikutteita grungesta koulun kevätjuhliin, mutta King Crimson-kikkailu ja soolo-osuudet sekä Wigwamin perusvääntö maustavat musiikkia eniten. Sovitukset ovat oivaltavia ja biiseissä on hienoja, omalaatuisia ideoita. Se, että biisit lauletaan suomenruotsiksi, saa erityisen plussan – onhan se perkeleen hienoa, että joku uskaltaa tehdä vakavasti otettavaa musiikkia toisella kotimaisella. Ja nyt on aika paljastaa, että olen itse perisuomalainen karjalaisilla juurilla. Ainoa asia, jonka olisin jättänyt pois, on levyn puolivälin lyhyt puheosuus.

Soitinvalikoima on perinteinen ja perusmeininki on perinteistä progressiivista rokkia. Soittajat ovat taitavia ja soitto on tarkkaa, mikä on tietenkin tässä musiikkilajissa suotavaa. 70-luku on vahvasti esillä ja laulajalla on sointuva ääni, joka sopii hienosti vuosikymmenen tunnelmaan.

Saatekirjeessä mainitaan bändin kuuntelevan erilaisia musiikkityylejä. Olisin mieluiten kuullut tuon moninaisuuden tasaisesti koko levyllä. Nyt biisien tunnelma vaihtuu välillä liikaa ja sen vuoksi levyllä maistuu hieman sillisalaatin sivumaku. Mutta muuten Imperfekt on kokonaisuutena oikein laadukasta kuultavaa.

Prog in Finnish Swedish. That’s the concept of Prime Mover. In their music you can also hear other influences, from grunge to school’s spring fête, but King Crimson-tricks and solos, as well as Wigwam’s basic twists, give the music its main flavour. The arrangements are insightful and the ideas for the songs are delicate and original. The fact that the songs are sung in Finnish Swedish is a special plus – it is after all damn great, that someone dares to make serious music on Finland’s second language. And now it’s time to reveal that I’m personally a very typical Finn, with my roots in Karelia. The only thing that I would have left out is the short spoken part halfway through the record.

The selection of instruments is traditional and the basic style is traditional progressive rock. The musicians are skillful and the playing is precise, which of course is preferable in this kind of music. There are strong influences from the 70’s, and the singer has a tuneful voice that fits very well with the feel of that decade.

It’s told in the promo letter that the band members listen to different music styles. I would have preferred to hear that diversity evenly throughout the album. Now the atmosphere in the songs sometimes changes too much, and because of that the record is a bit of a mishmash. But other than that, ”Imperfekt” as a whole is a really good listen.

Rating: 8/10

Pirita Tiusanen, Sue Indierockpunkmetalzine, issue #113, December 2007.

Up to menu

 

Zero Music Magazine

Först och främst får jag tacka Prime Mover för att de tackar Zero Music Magazine i CD:häftet till detta album. När detta är gjort övergår vi till själva recensionen av det här egensinniga bandets nya fullängdare, betitlat Imperfekt. I ett musikklimat då alltför många jagar stålar genom att sjunga på engelska bibehåller Prime Mover sina finlandssvenska texter och sång, vilket de ska ha all heder för. Temat för lyriken behandlar hur människan i dagens stressiga samhälle försöker uppfylla krav och förväntningar. Här finns garanterat verser som de flesta av oss kan känna igen sig i, men texterna tycks också tala ur ett underifrånperspektiv. Från den blyge, tystlåtna person som dras med lite dålig självkänsla och kanske uppfattas som småtöntig. Från personen som inte tar för sig och armbågar sig fram jämt och samt. Det är inte ett alltför vanligt ämne inom rockmusiken, men ett realistiskt och ödmjukt förhållningssätt. Prime Movers progressiva rockmusik ber dock inte om ursäkt för sig. Här händer det kreativa grejer hela tiden och även om ljudbilden kunde vara bättre rent tekniskt, så märks det tydligt och klart vilka duktiga musikanter det här bandet består av. Tycker du om grupper som Trettioåriga Kriget eller varför inte, Gentle Giant eller Greenslade, gör du dig själv en otjänst om du inte kollar upp Prime Mover. Det här är ny, men klassisk progrock av klass och Imperfekt är en både bättre och mer jämn platta än gruppens förra. Bara att njuta, således.

First of all I'd like to thank Prime Mover for showing Zero Music Magazine their gratitude in the CD booklet for this album. Now that this is done, let's move on to the review of this self-willed band's new full-length album, entitled Imperfekt. In a musical climate when too many people chase wealth by singing in English, Prime Mover keep their Finnish Swedish lyrics and vocals. This is something they deserve a lot of honour for. The lyrics deal with the way people in today's stressful society are trying to live up to all kinds of demands and expectations. There are surely verses that most of us can identify with, but the lyrics also seem to speak out of an under dog's perspective. From the shy and quiet person that struggles with a low self-confidence and is perhaps regarded as somewhat geeky. From the person that isn't claiming his spot in the flashlight, elbowing his way through. It's a not-too-common subject within rock music, but it's a realistic and humble way to look at things. Prime Mover's Progressive rock music doesn't, however, apologize. Creative stuff is happening here all the time, and even though the sound as a whole could be better from a strictly technical point of view, you can clearly tell what good musicians this band consists of. If you're into bands like Trettioåriga Kriget or, why not, Gentle Giant or Greenslade, you're doing yourself a disservice if you're not checking out Prime Mover. This is new, but classic progressive rock with a high standard, and Imperfekt is both better and more balanced than the band's previous record. Thus, you can only enjoy it.

Rating: 8/10

Robert Ryttman, Zero Music Magazine, 2 January 2007.

Up to menu

 

ZXC

Prime Mover är ett progeband som inte spelar live. Trots det har deras skivor blivit rosade av kritiker såväl i ankdammen, som utomlands. Imperfekt är bandets andra skiva på svenska.

Prime Mover är ett band vars namn jag har hört nämnas i otaliga sammanhang, och det tog ganska länge innan jag insåg att de är finlnadssvenska, hela bunten på åtta personer. Skivan Imperfekt, som släpptes förra veckan, är ändå första gången jag bekantar mig med deras musik. Stommen i bandet utgörs ändå av fem personer, vokalisten Dennis Nordell, gitarristen och bakgrundssångaren Michael Karlsson, klaveristen och sångaren Sebastian Teir, basisten Roger Nyman och batteristen Kenneth Lagerström.

Om jag har förstått rätt, spelar Prime Mover aldrig live, vilket är jävligt synd, eftersom det här skulle vara maffigt att höra på en scen. Personligen har jag alltid haft lite svårt för renodlade proggband, tursamt då för Prime Mover att det inte är ett sådant. De för progen så kännspaka taktbytena, långa instrumentalpartierna och den ibland rätt monotona stämsången ligger som grund i musiken, men det finns tillräckligt mycket olika influenser inbakade i limpan för att det ska orka vara intressant hela skivan igenom. Det är svårt att med några ord nåla ner musiken, även om poprocken är överallt närvarande. Ibland hotar till och med de poppiga arrangemangen kombinerade med småstadsmysiga texter som i öppningsspåret Telefonsamtal från norr att glida över i ett nästan tomasledinaktigt sockervadd.

Prime Mover ger sig ut för att vara ett annorlunda band. Tidigare ska en recensent ha skrivit att det nog är sant, men att det också kunde satsa på att vara bra. Jag vill gärna svänga det hela andra vägen. Jag drar lätt paralleller till 70-talspopproggarna (vilket ord!) Wigwam. Men där Wigwam kändes energiska, råa och alldeles unika i sitt skrå, låter Prime Mover bra, men kanske lite tama. Trots skivans många olika stilgrupper och influenser, känner jag mig aldrig riktigt överraskad, utom kanske på min favoritlåt In i dimman, som har ett ganska folkigt sound. Alltså folk som i gammal nordisk folkmusik, inte den senare Dylan-folken. Det här skulle jag gärna höra mycket mer av! Ganska beskrivande för helhetsintrycket är låten Ingenting, som börjar med ett ordentligt rivigt heavy-parti, som nästan för tankarna till Metallica, men som genast då vokalpartierna börjar sjunker tillbaks i samma bekväma lunk som resten av skivan.

Detta sagt, är det här utan tvekan en bra skiva. Då jag lyssnar genom plattan en tredje gång, hittar jag några absoluta favoriter, en av dem är I verkligheten, med en härlig synthmelodi, som för tankarna till sc-fi-serier från 80-talet och som på det hela är väldigt lik något som YUP kunde ha gjort. Men över lag saknas YUP:s fananamma på den här skivan. Allt är lite väl tillrättalagt. Trots att jag brukar vara oerhört allergisk mot dialekt-sång, är jag också väldigt tagen av den bluegrass-inspirerade Sagt och gjort. Jag vet inte om det säger mer om bandet eller skribenten att det verkar vara de minst proggiga låtarna som fastnar bäst...

En eloge ska ännu gå till Dennis Nordell på sång. Oerhört behagligt att lyssna på! Man kunde berömma alla inblandade musiker, som inom givna ramar alla har sina stunder på skivan.

Humppe, ZXC, June 2008.

Up to menu

 

Åbo Underrättelser

Finlandssvenska Prime Mover spelar en rätt egen form av progressiv rock. Den rymmer – inom ramen för en klassiskt komplex progestruktur – också stråk av finlandssvensk visa, och därtill en specifikt österbottnisk atmosfär med folkmusikaliska klanger. En omöjlig kombination? Nja, här lever den och mår ganska bra. Det österbottniska framträder också via stämningsläget i sång och texter – någon gång sjungs till och med på dialekt, för min del kunde det gärna varit mer av den varan. Må då vara att sången i sig inte hör till skivans starkare element.

Medlemmarna i Prime Mover bor på olika håll, och skapar musiken i sina egna minihemstudion (med datorteknik). Det här inbegriper i sig inte någon kyla, tvärtom får helheten en fascinerande oskuldsfull färgning. Speciellt öppningen ”Telefonsamtal från norr”, om de österbottniska föräldrarna som har ”drygt” efter sonen och hans familj, bjuder på en samtidigt naiv och oemotståndlig stund med äkta melankoli. Musiken gråter, utan att ens behöva vara speciellt molldränkt.

The Swedish speaking Finnish band Prime Mover plays a quite unique form of progressive rock. Within the frame of the classsic complex structure typical of progressive music, it also contains patches of folk ballads associated with the Swedish speaking population of Finland, and added to this is a specific Ostrobothnian atmosphere with a kind of folk music sound. An impossible combination? Well, maybe not.. Here it lives and it’s doing quite ok. The Ostrobothnian identity is also apparent through the moods contained in the music and lyrics – sometimes the songs are even sung in a dialect, and personally this is something I’d like to hear more of, even though the vocals aren’t the strongest element on the record.

The members of Prime Mover all live far apart, in different areas, and they create music in their own little home recording studios (using computer technology). This doesn’t mean the music is in any way cold. On the contrary, it gives the whole picture a fascinating and innocent colour. Especially the opening track ”Telefonsamtal från norr”, about Ostrobothnian parents who miss their son and his family, gives the listener a moment that is naive but at the same time irresistibly and genuinely melancholic. The music cries, without even being soaked in a minor key.

Henrik Jansson, Åbo Underrättelser, 10 November 2007.

Up to menu


Back to reviews